What to do with Leftover Hot Dog Rolls


Selection of hot dogs

Image via Wikipedia

Rarely do I purchase hot dogs and rolls but, when I do, it is inevitable that there will be more rolls than hot dogs. This means that I must find something to do with the rolls that are left over. I am pretty inventive, so this is not an issue.

  • Peanut butter and fluff sandwiches can be made using rolls. The daycare children used to love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches made with these.

  • The rolls can be used to make subs as well. Cut ham and cheese slices in half, and fold the halves in half. Place a half of each in the roll and add vegetables such as lettuce, diced tomato and pickles.

  • Meatball subs can also be made using hot dog rolls.

  • Cheese and pickles on rolls is a nice treat.

  • Chop leftover steak and warm it on the stove, adding shredded cheese at the end of the warming period. Mix and spoon into a roll and top with ketchup.

  • Wrap a string cheese with a slice of sandwich meat and place it in the roll over some relish.

What combinations can you come up with?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Dishes

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hello. My name is Shannon, and I am a single mother of two young adult daughters. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres. At some point, I would like to travel. It would be a true writing adventure. Feel free to visit me on Google+ at https://plus.google.com/+shannonlbuck and on Twitter @ShannonLBuck.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

6 Comments on “What to do with Leftover Hot Dog Rolls”

  1. Monday, November 14, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    We also do sloppy joes on leftover hot dog buns

    • Shannon Buck
      Tuesday, November 15, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      Sounds interesting. I’ll bet some of you readers will be trying this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Ticket, Tailgating Access, Food, and Hat | 4 Real Cheap - Friday, August 5, 2011

    [...] What to do with Leftover Hot Dog Rolls [...]

  2. Dine-In or Catering at Gandolfo’s New York Delicatessen » Get your daily Groupon deals - Saturday, August 6, 2011

    [...] What to do with Leftover Hot Dog Rolls [...]

  3. $10 for $20 Worth of Sandwiches and Drinks at Atomic Subs & Wings in Arlington » Get your daily Groupon deals - Sunday, August 7, 2011

    [...] What to do with Leftover Hot Dog Rolls [...]

  4. $5 for $10 Worth of American Fare at Hot Dog Heaven in Amherst » Get your daily Groupon deals - Thursday, August 11, 2011

    [...] What to do with Leftover Hot Dog Rolls [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 735 other followers

