Ramen Noodle Add-Ins

file000723508156

Skye and Zowie used to love Ramen Noodles. They would eat it right out of the package, no cooking required. I tried not to let them do that any more once I found out they could break a tooth on the uncooked pasta, but I am sure they still ate it that way when I was not around.

Ramen noodles are a cheap way to make soup for your family. I used purchase cheap brands of this pasta whenever I could find them, but the name brand is not really that expensive. The add-ins you choose to use do not have to cost any extra money when you save leftovers in the freezer. Even if you do not save small amounts of leftovers in freezer bags, you can purchase an add-in for under $1.00 that will aid you in stretching these noodles for your family.

Ramen Noodles have 0 trans-fat, and the add-ins you choose will only add to the nutritional value of a soup made with them.

The table below shows some possible options that work well with all of the Ramen Noodles. This is certainly not an exhaustive list. Please feel free to share your add-in favorites in the comments for this post.

Meat Options Vegetable Options Cheese Options Seasoning Options
sausage corn salt
chicken pees pepper
turkey carrots crushed garlic
beef tomatoes grated Romano rosemary
moose spinach grated Parmesan parsley

Below are 3 options for your considerations. Feel free to come up with your own. Experiment with what is cheap, and what you have on hand for leftovers. To start, thaw previously cooked and frozen add-ins. Bring a saucepan of water to boil, with broken up noodles, the contents of the seasoning packet, and the leftovers. Pour the soup into bowls, sprinkle with cheese and seasonings. Serve with bread, muffins or rolls, and a salad of greens if available.

Chicken flavored noodles, ½ cup of chunked chicken, corn. Top with grated Parmesan and some rosemary.
Beef flavored noodles, chopped beef, carrots and tomato. Top with grated Romano and some parsley.
Shrimp flavored noodles and corn. Top with grated parmesan and crushed garlic.

 

Other notable recipe ideas:

Pancake Toppings

Pancake Add-ins

Easy Popcorn Add-Ins

Easy Cheeseburger Toppings and Add-Ins

Movie Night Mix-Ups

Easy Burger Options

Happy Cooking!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Dishes

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hello. My name is Shannon, and I am a single mother of two young adult daughters. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres. At some point, I would like to travel. It would be a true writing adventure. Feel free to visit me on Google+ at https://plus.google.com/+shannonlbuck and on Twitter @ShannonLBuck.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top Frugal Food Posts in 2013 | Frugal Recipes - Wednesday, January 1, 2014

    […] Ramen Noodle Add-Ins: Add some veggies and meat to make this a bit healthier. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 730 other followers

