Soup from Leftovers (Easy-Peasy!)


I love these types of recipes. They give you the opportunity to use up leftovers from the freezer, and may actually be free to prepare. This method of cooking takes minimal preparation. Here is what you do:

Keep containers in the freezer for leftover vegetables (peas, green beans, squash, cauliflower, broccoli, etc.), meats (hamburg, pork, steak, ham, etc.), vegetable water, and homemade stocks or broths. These will later be used for “leftover soup”. I don’t usually separate things too much, putting all vegetables into one container, and all meats into another. This is a great way to freeze small leftover amounts of each type of food.

The morning before you need to make the “leftover soup,” take all the containers out of the freezer and put them into the refrigerator. The next day, it will be easy to start your soup.

If you’ll be using a slow cooker, put the ingredients into the crock, then add water until it is 2/3 full (if necessary). Cook on high for lunch (3-4 hours) and low for dinner (5-6 hours). Add any herbs/spices 20-30 minutes before serving.

You could also cook this on your stove-top, beginning 30-60 minutes before you want to eat, depending on what you put into it. Again, add other items, if you want, 20-30 minutes before serving.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All Time Best Recipes, Articles, and Pages on the Frugal Recipes Blog | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, January 17, 2015

    […] Leftover Soup […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

