Tomato Soup Idea #2


I wanted share another soup idea with you today, again using tomato soup as the base. Tomato soup is high in sodium, so you may want to try to find a brand with less sodium for optimal health effects.

I regularly come up with ideas for making soup more wholesome. I do this very cheaply, either by using leftovers or by purchasing items on sale. Sometime, the entire meal is free. This happens when everything has come from the food cupboard and/or friends or my garden.

Tomato soups are easy to make

Try this variation:

1 can tomato soup

1 can milk or water

peas

celery, diced

  1. If you don’t want the celery to be crunchy, then sauté it in a skillet with EVOO until almost the desired tenderness.
  2. Pour the can of tomato soup into a sauce pan.
  3. Add 1 can of water or milk alternative, the peas, and the celery to the pan.
  4. Cook until the soup is the desired temperature.
  5. Pour into soup bowls or mugs, and serve.

Tips

  • Try various vegetable combinations to find your favorites.

Serving suggestions

What interesting things do you add to your tomato soup?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

5 Comments on “Tomato Soup Idea #2”

  1. Friday, June 5, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    I like it w/ grilled cheese too… but a few additions I add are grated cheddar, sour cream or salsa (not all together usually but that doesn’t sound bad at the moment!)

    Like

    • Saturday, June 6, 2009 at 11:07 am #

      Sounds good! I will be trying the cheddar and sour cream versions.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Recipes for the Single Mom : Single Mom - Monday, June 15, 2009

    […] Tomato Soup Idea #2 […]

    Like

  2. Tomato Soup Idea #3 | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, January 7, 2017

    […] may realize by now that we love tomato soup. It’s great on the chillier days that we’re still having, especially after a walk or […]

    Like

  3. Chicken Salad from Leftovers | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, February 26, 2017

    […] Enjoy this salad with a tomato soup. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

