Quick Tip: What to do with Leftover Taco Meat


I’m a full believer in using up leftovers. It’s one of the most frugal things that we can all do, and will save a noticeable amount of food money throughout the year.

I like to come up with as many ways as I can to reuse each type of food, and today I will be concentrating on leftover taco meat. Here are the ideas that I have come up with:

  • Freeze portions of meat and make a taco dinner.
  • Use it as pizza topping.
  • Add it to pasta or pizza sauce.
  • Use it as filler for fajitas/tortillas.
  • Add it to meatballs.

Can you come up with any other ideas?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Quick Tips, Saving Money, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

9 Comments on “Quick Tip: What to do with Leftover Taco Meat”

  1. Enjay
    Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 6:32 am #

    I find that leftover taco meat goes well into chili. Also, you can freeze it, and add to it, until you have enough for another meal. You may be surprised how quickly the little dribs and drabs add up.

    Like

    • Wednesday, July 15, 2009 at 10:53 am #

      This is true. I freeze everything for future use.

      Like

  2. Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    Make a enchalida casserole. Layer in 9 x 13 baking dish: thin layer of
    enchalida sauce; then flour tortilla wraps – cut to fit dish; then taco meat (shredded cheese,green onions, chopped black olives, spanish rice, ANYTHING left over from taco night); then enchalida sauce; then tortilla wraps; then taco meat (anything from taco night); then – enchilada sauce; then shredded cheddar cheese. Bake 350 20-30 min, or cooked through.

    Like

  3. Monday, November 28, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    I make a taco soup. It consist of a can corn, can of tomatoes, onion, garlic powder, and you can add any other vegetables that you desire and then simmer for about 20 mins. and it is done. goes great with corn bread.

    Like

    • Shannon Buck
      Monday, December 5, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      I’ll bet many of my readers will enjoy this one. Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy Recipe Ideas Leftover Taco Meat « Recipes for Health - Saturday, October 11, 2014

    […] What to do with Leftover Taco Meat | Frugal Recipes โ€“ … Home ยป What to do with Leftover Taco Meat. Tuesday, July 14, 2009 | Shannon L. Buck … and today I will be concentrating on leftover taco meat. Here are the ideas that I have come up with: … 31 Day Healthy Recipe Challenge; March 2012: … […]

    Like

  2. The Best Frugal Recipes and Articles of 2014 | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, January 6, 2015

    […] What to do with Leftover Taco Meat […]

    Like

  3. All Time Best Recipes, Articles, and Pages on the Frugal Recipes Blog | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, January 17, 2015

    […] What to do with Leftover Taco Meat […]

    Like

  4. Frugal Recipes: The Top 10 Posts of 2015 | Frugal Recipes - Friday, January 8, 2016

    […] What to do with Leftover Taco Meat […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

