Herb Profile: Chives

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Popular among Greeks, Egyptians and Romans, chives are easily grown in any garden, or even where there is no garden.  They are part of the lily family, like onions and other types of herbs. Chives originated from Asia and Europe, coming to the United States later. Both the leaves and the flowers are edible.

Chives are noted for having certain health benefits, such as those needed for

  • Digestion
  • Circulation
  • Respiration

Note: Consult a doctor if you are being treated for any illnesses before using any type of food for its’ health benefits.

My nephews enjoy eating the leaves fresh from the garden.

Chives make great additions to many recipes, including

  • Soups
  • Stews
  • Salads
  • Potato Recipes

Here are some ways you can use chives

  • Top baked potato with chopped leaves.
  • Add to soups and stews after cooking.
  • Chop leaves and add to omelets.
  • Use the flowers in salads.

What uses do you have for chives?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Condiments, Etc., Herb Profiles

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

One Comment on “Herb Profile: Chives”

  1. Wednesday, September 16, 2009 at 10:48 am #

    The taste of chives is unique and unforgettable. I’m sure it has a lot of health benefits, it just tastes healthy!

    I did publish quite a few recipes containing chives, take a look if you really like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

