Hanging Herbs to Dry and Dried Herb Gift Jars


When my daughters were young, I’d bring them Trick-or-Treating each year. There was this one house we would go to, where the woman of the house always had multiple herbs hanging in bunches from her porch ceiling. She would invite us through into her kitchen, and the aroma of the porch was marvelous. I’ll always remember this porch and the aromas associated with it.

It’s easy to hang herbs to dry. I hung wire from my living room ceiling with hooks for this purpose. I have only dried parsley there so far, but it will work well for other herbs as well.

Here are the steps:

  1. Cut the parsley with scissors from the garden.
  2. Rinse and gently pat dry.
  3. Wrap yarn or another type of string around the stems of the parsley bunches.
  4. Hang from the ceiling.
  5. Allow to dry until the parsley crumbles easily.
  6. Crumble into clean jars and cover.
  7. Store in a dark cupboard, or in the refrigerator.

These jars of herbs make great gifts for the holidays. Here are some ideas for decorating the jars:

  • Create a tag and tie it on the jar with raffia.
  • Create sticker tags to add the front of each jar.
  • Cut a circle from fabric a little bigger than the jar cover and tie the fabric around the cover with yarn or raffia.

You can give one jar to each person, or many jars of different types of herbs to each person.

Other Tips:

  • Keep drying herbs out of direct sunlight.
  • Keep drying herbs away from heat sources such as a stove.
  • Collect jars with covers from recycling centers, yard sales, friends, and family to save money.
  • Use other food jars than those for canning.
  • Small jars work best for this project.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Condiments, Etc., Food & Kitchen Crafts, Food Articles, Food Storage

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

