The Art of Leftover Wizardry

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

On page 133 of  the Amy Dycyzynz book The Complete Tightwad Gazette, she discusses the art of leftover wizardry. This is an important concept when trying to live frugally.

She mentions things like:

  • Using leftovers for lunches.
  • Keeping a soup container in the freezer.
  • Pot luck nights.

When freezing leftovers, I tend to do three things:

  1. Freeze leftover vegetables in 1 container.
  2. Freeze leftover meats in another container.
  3. Freeze vegetable, meat and pasta juice in another container.

With these three containers of food, I can make a variety of foods:

  1. Casseroles
  2. Sauces
  3. Cat Stew (for our kitties)
  4. Soups/stews
  5. Mini meatloaf

What ideas can you come up with?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

6 Comments on “The Art of Leftover Wizardry”

  1. Saturday, January 23, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    I find it amazing that you always find the time to write about things like this. I like your blog, so I hope that my post will inspire you to post some more good things!

    Like

  2. cyndie
    Monday, February 22, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I tried to purchase your e book but the link appears broken. Your blog is invaluable. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    • Monday, August 2, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      I am updating the site and links, as well as changing where the ebooks will be sold. Come back in about a month and there shouldn’t be any problems. Soon there will be more ebooks as well 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Art of Leftover Wizardry « Frugal Recipes -- Topsy.com - Friday, January 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Healthycoffee, Shannon Buck. Shannon Buck said: The Art of Leftover Wizardry: http://wp.me/p7eXi-7D […]

    Like

  2. Stop Wasting Food | Frugal Recipes - Monday, February 3, 2014

    […] Using leftovers the next day to make a new meal. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

