Food Profile: Carrots


The carrot can be purchased in a few different colors, including purple and white. It can be used in many ways, and will make interesting salad additions when using more than one color.

Carrots are packed full of important nutrients, including

  • Vitamins A and C
  • B vitamins
  • Fiber
  • Potassium
  • Folate

The carrot, regardless of  its’ color, also has health benefits.

Some of the benefits of eating carrots

  • Reduced risk of cancer.
  • Protection against cardiovascular disease.
  • Promotes good vision.

Adding carrots to your diet is important, and can be done in many ways

  • Use it in stews and casseroles.
  • Add it to salads.
  • Make a boiled dinner using carrots.
  • Or, roast them with potatoes.

In what ways do you use carrots?

Shannon

References:

WHFoods: Carrots

A 2 Z of Health, Beauty and Fitness: Health Benefits of Carrots

Every Nutrient: Health Benefits of Carrots

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Profiles

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Vegetables for Your Frugal Garden | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Excellent eaten fresh, I prefer to grow short varieties. Try Thumbelina and Short n’ Sweet. Carrots may be frozen or canned for use during the winter months. They are delicious in a squash and carrot […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

