Chicken Salad from Leftovers

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Often, at the end of the week, I find odds and ends from previous meals that I’ve consumed over the last few days in my refrigerator. These need to be eaten, but what can be done with them?

I’m a lover of salads, and raw fruits and vegetables. I’d rather eat a salad than soup most days, and can be pretty creative with the salads I make. Here is one such salad.

Ingredients:

(Serves 4+)

handful of romaine lettuce or kale

few leaves of baby spinach

handful of shredded cabbage

few slices of cucumber

1 tomato, chopped or diced

1 diced celery stalk

a sprinkling of shredded carrot

1 hard boiled egg, sliced

a little chicken, cut into bite size pieces

a few pineapple chunks

a few cantaloupe chunks

  1. Mix everything up.
  2. Enjoy!

Tips:

  • Many vegetables can be shredded, making them easier to eat.
  • Use a different kind of meat if chicken is not available, and any fruits and vegetables that look appetizing.

Serving Suggestions:

Happy Eating!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Chicken Salad from Leftovers « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy -- Topsy.com - Tuesday, October 26, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Shannon Buck, Shannon Buck. Shannon Buck said: Chicken Salad from Leftovers: http://wp.me/p7eXi-gJ […]

    Like

  2. 50% Off Smoothies « Deal Grater - Wednesday, December 1, 2010

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  3. 50% Off Smoothies » Get your daily Groupon deals - Thursday, December 2, 2010

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  4. $10 for Burgers at Starsky’s » Get your daily Groupon deals - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  5. $10 for Café Fare at Camille’s » Get your daily Groupon deals - Friday, December 31, 2010

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  6. 54% Off a Catered Meal for Two » Get your daily Groupon deals - Friday, December 31, 2010

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  7. $6 for Eats at Cafe by the Spa » Get your daily Groupon deals - Friday, December 31, 2010

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  8. 52% Off at The Orchard Tavern » Get your daily Groupon deals - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

  9. Pizza Meal, 55% Off « Deal Grater - Saturday, February 5, 2011

    […] Chicken Salad from Leftovers […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

