How Much Room will I Need in Order to Grow Food for My Family

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

You’ll want to figure out how much space to set aside for planting, before beginning your garden. This will depend on factors such as the size of your yard, and how many people are in your household. Be sure to take into consideration fresh-eating foods, foods that will preserved, and whether you will want to share your bounty with others.

There is no one way to go about figuring out this information that will work for everyone, but these guidelines will be helpful.

Keep it Small

Almanac.com suggests that beginners keep their gardens small. You’ll be able to build the garden up to a larger, but still manageable, space over time. Starting small gives you a chance to see how much food your household consumes, fresh and preserved. Start with a garden measuring four feet by four feet, to see how much your family will eat.

Space to Move

Calculate room for you to move in your garden space plans. Have at least two feet between each bed or plot, for easy access to each area. You want to be able to maneuver the garden space quickly.

Expand Your Space

When there is not enough space to grow the amount of food your family needs, try using space-saving gardening techniques. The square foot gardening technique aids you in growing as much food as possible in every square foot of space you have available. Growing up trellises will also save you space.

References and Resources:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Gardening

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention How Much Room will I Need in Order to Grow Food for My Family « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy -- Topsy.com - Wednesday, December 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sheila. Sheila said: RT @BangorSingleMom: How Much Room will I Need in Order to Grow Food for My Family: http://wp.me/p7eXi-m5 […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

