Stuffed Celery

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015

By Sheila Buck
(Update January 2017: I love the celery stuffed with peanut butter! At some point, to stay in line with my desire to eat a more Paleofied diet, I’d like to try stuffing the celery with a nut butter. ~ Shannon)

I make stuffed celery for every family get together we have. It’s funny because there are olives in this recipe and I do not like olives. Even though I don’t like olives this stuffed celery is one of my favorite things to eat. I have been making stuffed celery since I was a little girl and didn’t actually have a recipe for it. I made the tasty snack for our family Yule celebration because Shannon wanted me to post it on here. I hope you all try it out and find that you like it.

Ingredients:

1 Bunch of celery (washed and cut into 2 to 3 inch pieces)

2 8oz packages of cream cheese

1 small onion, peeled and  finely chopped

1/2 cup Spanish olives, chopped

2 Tbs. Spanish olive juices

Procedure:

Place the cream cheese into a medium sized bowl and set it aside for a few minutes to let it soften. When the cream cheese is soft enough to mix add the onions, olives and the olive juice. Mix well. Fill each piece of celery with some of the cream cheese mixture and place them on a plate or platter. Cover with Saran wrap until it is time to serve it.

You can use store brand cream cheese and olives for this recipe. I usually use Philadelphia cream cheese and Hannaford brand Spanish olives. Stuffed celery is a great dish to bring to family or work parties.

*************************************

Sheila Buck is the single mom of two teenage boys. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Clinical Psychology. Sheila is a freelance writer, and also writes books and short stories in her spare time. Sheila also writes for Frugal is Fabulous!.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Celebrations, Sides

Author:syb376

My name is Sheila Buck and I am a Daily Living Support Worker and Skills Development Worker for Community Care and Bangor Maine.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frugal Recipes Happenings for 1/15/2011 « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Saturday, January 15, 2011

    […] Stuffed Celery […]

    Like

  2. Caese’s Party Bread « Recipes From There and Here - Wednesday, January 26, 2011

    […] Stuffed Celery (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. Celery Platter for a Crowd « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Wednesday, May 18, 2011

    […] Stuffed Celery […]

    Like

  4. Top 10 Vegetables for Your Frugal Garden | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Celery is great fresh, in salads, and in roasts and stews. Nut butter stuffed celery is a healthy snack. It grows […]

    Like

  5. Celery Platter for a Crowd | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, February 26, 2017

    […] stuffed celery […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

