Zucchini and Carrot Omelet

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright December 29, 2016. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

There are a variety of food combinations that can be used when making an omelet, depending on your tastes. This food allows you to start your day off right by getting in some vegetables.

Ingredients

(Per person)

2 eggs

coconut oil

a little coconut or almond milk

1/8 to ¼ cup grated, fresh zucchini

1/8 to ¼ cup grated, fresh carrot

a sprinkling of chopped, fresh parsley

  1. Melt oil in a skillet.
  2. Beat the eggs and the milk together.

  3. Cook until the bottom is almost done, and sprinkle the other ingredients over the top. Flip half the omelet over the other half.

  4. After a minute you will want to flip the omelet to finish cooking.

Tips

  • I usually make my ‘omelets’ more like I would make scrambled eggs. By mixing them all up in the pan, sprinkling the herbs over the top just before they’re done.

  • I use store brand ingredients for omelets, to save money.

  • Save even more by raising your own hens, growing your own vegetables, and harvesting parsley straight from your garden.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with homemade vegetable juice, or a fruit smoothie.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zucchini and Carrot Omelet « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Wednesday, January 25, 2012

    […] I have never made an egg dish without the yolk, so am not sure what to do if not using them. This zucchini and carrot omelet uses both the egg whites and […]

    Like

  2. 7 Better Breakfast Ideas | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, December 27, 2016

    […] An omelet with diced tomato and chopped spinach, served with mixed berries. […]

    Like

  3. Top 10 Vegetables for Your Frugal Garden | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] frozen or canned for use during the winter months. They are delicious in a squash and carrot mash, in omelets, in fresh salads, these carrots are also tasty when added to a soup or roast. Carrots are also […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

