Fresh Garden Salad

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

My mom is picking vegetables left and right from her garden. Two weeks ago she told me they were filling their cupboards and freezer with all they will need for the winter before giving any to me, my sister, and brother. Last week, she sent up a huge head of cabbage, a bag of small cucumbers, and a bag of green beans. All very yummy. Soon we will have zucchini!

Fresh Garden Salad

section of cabbage

small cucumber

handful of green beans

1 to 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

  1. Rinse the vegetables well.
  2. Shred the cabbage and place in a bowl.
  3. Chop the cucumber and add it to the bowl.
  4. Snap the end off each bean, break into pieces and add to the bowl. Mix everything well and dish up.
  5. Add oil to the top of each salad and mix to coat.

Tips

  • Use whatever vegetables are abundant from the garden.
  • Use an herb flavored oil.

Serving Suggestion

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dear Fitness Journal 8/15/2011 « The Fitness Journal - Monday, August 22, 2011

    […] Fresh Garden Salad (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Top 10 Vegetables for Your Frugal Garden | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Lettuce: This type of lettuce is great for using in fresh salads. It may also be used in wraps and sandwiches. Romaine prefers cool weather. Keep the soil moist […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

