Tomatoes, Cucumbers, and Mozzarella Cheese

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Summer salads are the best. Fresh produce picked in your own garden adds scrumptious taste to any salad, including this one which uses tomatoes, cucumbers, and herbs you can grow yourself.
(Update 2017) I used to eat a lot of cheese, but not so much these days. It does not fit in with the Paleo lifestyle I’m trying to create for myself, but that isn’t to say I will never have cheese again. Once-in-a-while, I’ll have some in a salad or something, but not every day, week, or even month.

Ingredients

10 cherry tomatoes

small cucumber

½ to ¾ cup chunks of mozzarella cheese

extra virgin olive oil

mint

basil

  1. Rinse the produce and they fresh herbs. Pat dry with a dish towel.

  2. Cut the cherry tomatoes in half and place in a bowl.

  3. Chop the cucumber into bite size pieces, disposing of the ends.

  4. Add cheese chunks and mix with the produce.

  5. Drizzle extra virgin olive oil over the salad, and sprinkle with diced mint and basil to taste. Mix and serve.

 Tips

  • Mozzarella is not exactly a hard cheese, but can still be found in block form. Simply cut into bite size pieces.

  • If block cheese is not available, it is okay to use shredded.

 Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with soup.

  • This dish goes well with a meal of meat and potatoes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fresh Cucumber » Tomatoes, Cucumbers and Mozzarella Cheese « Frugal Recipes … - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

    […] this link: Tomatoes, Cucumbers and Mozzarella Cheese « Frugal Recipes … AKPC_IDS += "15747,";Popularity: unranked […]

    Like

  2. Tomatoes, Cucumber and Mozzarella Cheese « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Sunday, January 22, 2012

    […] January 22, 2012 by Shannon Buck Again, the cheese is costly. Save money where you can for this tomato, cucumber and mozzarella cheese Image via […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

