Baked Squash and Potatoes

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright October 2014.

The temperatures outside are cooler, and our minds start thinking about delectable autumn and winter meals, the smells of home cooked meals and homemade breads, and the holidays ahead.

I have mentioned before that I love potatoes. The white and red ones, that is, and I have begun to get used to sweet potatoes. More recently, I have added squash to the mix when baking potatoes.

Ingredients

small acorn or butternut squash

2 large potatoes

  1. Wash the squash and the potatoes, cutting off bad spots, and cut each in half. Scrape the seeds out of the squash.

  2. Place, skin side down, on a baking sheet and bake for 1 hour.

  3. Mash the potato with the peel.

  4. Scoop the squash out of its shell and add to the potatoes, mixing the two together.

 Tips

  • Use potatoes and squash from your garden for the ultimate in money savings and nutrition.

  • Try different types of potatoes and squash.

 Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with baked turkey or chicken.

  • A side salad will also go nice with these potatoes.

Enjoy!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Squash and Potatoes « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Friday, January 27, 2012

    […] Baked squash and potatoes are affordable side dishes for many dinner options including animal meats or seafood. They are tasty and filling, as well as affordable. Hard shelled squash will keep for a long time, so pick them up when prices are at their lowest. Potatoes will also store well out of the refrigerator. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

