Chunky Applesauce

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 4, 2015. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Homemade applesauce is easy to make in a pot on the stove top. Use apples from the store, or those you pick yourself. This is a great autumn recipe, but can be made throughout the year. It will also make a great addition to an autumn or winter feast. I usually just use however many apples I have on hand.

Ingredients

apple(s)

water

  1. Wash, peel and core the apple(s).

  2. Chop the apple.

  3. Place the apple pieces into a saucepan and cover with water. Only use enough water to barely cover the apples, but add more if needed before the apples are cooked down.

  4. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until there are small pieces of apple left but there is also plenty of sauce.

  5. Allow to cool or eat warm.

Tips

  • Use cinnamon to add additional flavor to the sauce. I add mine just

  • If the apples are tart, sugar may also be added.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve hot over Paleo banana ice cream.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides, Snacks

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chunky Applesauce « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Saturday, January 28, 2012

    […] Homemade chunky applesauce is a favorite snack of mine, and is so easy to make. You can eat it plain, or add cinnamon and even sugar. For this challenge, I would choose a sweet type of apples and add only cinnamon. […]

    Like

  2. Applesauce Cake with Oatmeal Streusel « Spoon Feast - Sunday, January 29, 2012

    […] Chunky Applesauce (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. Turkey and Squash One Pan Meal | Frugal Recipes - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

    […] This is great served in the morning with a fruit cocktail or homemade chunky applesauce. […]

    Like

  4. Apple-Pear Sauce | Frugal Recipes - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

    […] You may also enjoy my Homemade Apple-Peach Sauce and my Chunky Applesauce. […]

    Like

  5. Save More Money by Packing Meals for Lunch or School | Frugal Recipes - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

    […] then decide if I want fruit with any of the meals I will pack. If so, I will make some homemade apple sauce, apple-pear sauce, or apple-peach sauce. Or, I will be sure to have oranges and bananas available […]

    Like

  6. How I Prepare Food for the Beginning of My Workweek | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, September 23, 2014

    […] my chili was slow cooking, I made some applesauce. The chunky applesauce recipe is here, though you may enjoy an apple-pear sauce or an apple-peach sauce. For my sauce, I used 2 Red […]

    Like

  7. Meal Prep for the Coming Workweek | Frugal Recipes - Monday, October 20, 2014

    […] I made more Chunky Applesauce. This is such a simple recipe. I simply cook the apples down in water. I don’t add anything […]

    Like

  8. Multi-Site Autumn Roundup | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, October 25, 2014

    […] Chunky Applesauce […]

    Like

  9. Even More Workweek Mel Prep, Plus | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, November 22, 2014

    […] with our favorites. So far, I know my mac and cheese recipe will be in the book, as well as the chunky applesauce, mashed potatoes, and shepherds pie. There will be plenty more recipes going into that book! […]

    Like

  10. Issue #10: – Frugal Recipes Happenings - Saturday, October 22, 2016

    […] should go into the book. So far, I know a few recipes that will be put in there. They include chunky applesauce, shepherds pie, and mac and […]

    Like

  11. The Experiment | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] I may also make some homemade applesauce. […]

    Like

  12. The Experiment: Saving Money by Not Using a Shopping List | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] I may also make some homemade applesauce. […]

    Like

  13. Apple-Almond Pancakes | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, February 26, 2017

    […] Save money by using coupons and making your own applesauce. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

