Hearty Venison Soup

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

With the onslaught of colder weather, my mind turns to heartier meals that can be prepared quickly then simmered, roasted, or placed in the slow cooker to heat slowly. These meals can be served at lunch or dinner, depending on when you begin.

I also start thinking about how I hope my stepfather gets a deer or a moose this year, so I can have some meat 🙂 Any type of venison can be used in a soup, of course, so use whatever is on hand.

Ingredients

1 pound deer meat, cut into bite size pieces

1 can broth/stock

1 carrot

4 white potato

3 sweet potato

1 small squash, butternut or acorn

water

parsley

  1. Place the meat and some broth or stock in a pot and cook on high until.

  2. Peel the vegetables and cut into bite size pieces. Add these to the pot and cover with water.

  3. Add parsley and bring to a boil.

  4. Turn the temperature down to medium and cook until the meat and vegetables are done to your liking. Add a little more parsley just before turning the stove off.

Tips

  • Using produce you have grown yourself will cut the cost of this soup down to: Next. To. Nothing. Awesome 🙂

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with a side of pickles and cucumber chunks, as well as warm paleo biscuits for dipping into the soup juices after the rest is gone.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One-Pan Meal Using Venison « Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy - Friday, November 25, 2011

    […] Hearty Venison Soup (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

