Easy Turkey Soup

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015, http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

I started the Whole30 plan today, and have to come up with new recipe versions, and sometimes completely new recipes. You will benefit from this, in that I’m going to share each of the recipes here on the blog.

This turkey recipe is a new one for me. One I thought up and threw together just this evening. The parsley I grow fresh in a pot on the table. The recipe is giving me 2 servings, that I’ll serve along with vegetables in the form of a salad/ vegetable slices.

Ingredients

1 cup shredded leftover turkey (reserve any bones and skin for making homemade turkey stock.)

1/2 of an acorn squash

1 carrot

water or homemade stock

fresh parsley

  1. Put the shredded turkey in a slow cooker.
  2. Peel the squash and cut into chunks. Add these to the slow cooker.
  3. Wash the carrot and cut the ends off. Cut into rounds and add to the slow cooker. Reserve the ends for making homemade stock.
  4. Pour just enough water or homemade stock over the ingredients to cover.
  5. Cook on high for 2-3 hours, until you can easily stick a fork through the vegetables.

Tips

  • Try different herbs, which can be grown on a windowsill so you don’t have an added expense.
  • Try growing your own vegetables to save money.
  • Use canned turkey if you prefer.
  • Add a tablespoon of coconut oil if desired. A good way to get some good fat if you are also doing the Whole30.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with cucumber and carrot slices.

Enjoy!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals, Thanksgiving Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30 Day 1 | The Fitness Journal - Monday, April 1, 2013

    […] Turkey Soup […]

    Like

  2. Whole30 Day 2 | The Fitness Journal - Tuesday, April 2, 2013

    […] Easy Turkey Soup (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  3. Whole30 Day 3 | The Fitness Journal - Wednesday, April 3, 2013

    […] Easy Turkey Soup (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  4. Whole30 Day 16 | The Fitness Journal - Thursday, April 18, 2013

    […] Easy Turkey Soup (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  5. Thanksgiving Leftovers – Yum! | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, November 19, 2016

    […] Easy Turkey Soup […]

    Like

  6. Getting Enough Protein Affordably | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 22, 2017

    […] turkey. The first few days after Thanksgiving, eat off the bird. Make a sandwich, cook some turkey soup, and make a scramble for breakfast. There will be enough turkey for freezing to make other meals: […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

