Tasty Stuffed Shells


Contributed by Sheila Buck

(Update January 2017: What a great recipe from Sheila. I love stuffed shells, but I am also trying to eat healthier. Sometimes an old favorite is just what you need though. I want to leave this recipe here. I am not at a point myself where I eat absolutely healthy 100% of the time, and I’m sure many of you are not as well. Also, healthy is different depending on your nutritional needs. ~ Shannon)

Stuffed shells are one of my family’s favorite foods. I have tried to make stuffed shells a few different ways. This recipe is my favorite one and my boys love it.

Ingredients:  

1 box of large shell shaped pasta

1 to 1 ½ pounds of Hamburg

1 medium onion, chopped (optional)

32 oz. container of ricotta cheese

2 cups of mozzarella cheese

24 oz. can of pasta sauce

Pepper

Garlic powder

Cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a medium to large frying pan with cooking spray and add the onions and sauté them. Add the Hamburg to the onions. Sprinkle the meat mixture with pepper and garlic powder to taste. Cook the Hamburg until it is no longer red and drain the fat from the pan. Set the Hamburg and onion mixture aside and cool slightly.

Cook the shells according to the directions on the box. In a large bowl, mix the ricotta cheese with 1 cup of the mozzarella cheese. Add the meat mixture to the cheeses and mix well. Use a spoon or fork to stuff each shell with the meat and cheese mixture. Place each stuffed shell into a 9×13 baking dish. If there are too many shells for the baking dish you can place them in a smaller baking dish. Cover the shells with sauce. Sprinkle the remaining mozzarella cheese over the tops of the shells. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes or until the cheese on top is melted.

I use Hannaford brand shells and cheeses for this recipe. The sauce that I use is Hunts, but Hannaford or other store brand sauces can be used as well. Any flavor of sauce can be used for this recipe.

**************************

4288_1008028096866_1709873199_9523_631518_nSheila Buck is the single mom of two teenage boys. She has a Bachelor’s
Degree in Clinical Psychology. Sheila is a freelance writer, and also
writes books and short stories in her spare time. Sheila also writes for Frugal is Fabulous!.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals

Author:syb376

My name is Sheila Buck and I am a Daily Living Support Worker and Skills Development Worker for Community Care and Bangor Maine.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ~Featured Thursday Recipe~ | Kouzounas Kitchen - Thursday, August 22, 2013

    […] Tasty Stuffed Shells (frugalrecipes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

