Lemonade

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 4, 2015

I’m still trying to work recipes into something I can eat with my new lifestyle. In case you are unaware, I’m trying to live a Paleo lifestyle. At least mostly ;-). It’s not always easy for me to stick to this 100%, but it is getting easier.

I drink A LOT of water, but sometimes it just is not what I want. Mind you, I don’t even like the taste of water. But I bought myself a purifying pitcher and deal. I also drink a lot of hot tea, and iced tea on occasion. Sometimes I want something a little different, though. Not often, but sometimes. Lemonade is something I’ve tweaked successfully.

Ingredients:

1 gallon of water

1 or 2 lemons

honey to taste

mint leaves

  1. Pour water into a pitcher.
  2. Squeeze 1/2 cup of lemon juice from the lemons, after cutting them in half.
  3. Add honey to taste, and some fresh mint leaves, and stir. Start with 1/8th of a cup.
  4. Cut the lemons into slices and place in glasses, and add ice.
  5. Pour the lemonade over the ice and lemon slices and serve.

Tips:

  • Use organic lemons when possible.
  • Grow your own mint for minimal cost.
  • You can even grow a lemon tree, but this takes time.
  • Raw honey is the healthiest.

Serving Suggestions:

  • Add sliced strawberries to the pitcher and allow to sit in the refrigerator for a few hours.
  • Serve during a barbecue or picnic.

You may also enjoy:

Strawberry-Watermelon Water

Lemon-Lime Water

Mint-Lemon Sun Tea

 

Enjoy!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beverages

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100 Things About Me # 12: Frugal Recipes | Frugal is Fabulous! - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

    […] Lemonade […]

    Like

  2. Keep Learning | Live the Freelance Life - Sunday, February 7, 2016

    […] some fruit water, iced tea, or lemonade (Learn to make these for your  health!) in your […]

    Like

  3. Frugal Popsicle Ideas | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] lemonade […]

    Like

  4. Lemon-Lime Water | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Lemonade […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

