Apple-Pear Sauce


Homemade apple-pear sauce is easy to make in a pot on your stove top. It makes a good snack, and can even be divided into individual servings and brought to work or school to go with a lunch. This combination of fruits smells amazing while cooking.

Ingredients

apple(s)

pear(s)

water

  1. Wash, peel, and core the apple(s) and pear(s).

  2. Chop the apple(s) and Pear(s). The smaller the pieces, the less cook time needed.

  3. Place the apple and pear pieces into a saucepan and cover with water. Only use enough water to barely cover the fruit, adding more if needed before the fruit is cooked down.

  4. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until there are small pieces of apple and pear left but there is also plenty of sauce.

  5. Allow to cool or eat warm.

Tips

  • Use cinnamon to add additional flavor to the sauce.

  • This can be cooked down so there are no chunks.

  • Save money by using fruit that is almost gone by and sold for less at the store. Cut out any bruised parts.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve hot over Paleo banana ice cream.

  • Make a syrup for pancakes or waffles by adding 2 or 3 tablespoons of maple syrup to the sauce.

You may also enjoy my  Chunky Applesauce.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides, Snacks

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100 Things About Me # 12: Frugal Recipes | Frugal is Fabulous! - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

    […] Apple-Pear Sauce […]

    Like

  2. Save More Money by Packing Meals for Lunch or School | Frugal Recipes - Wednesday, March 5, 2014

    […] if I want fruit with any of the meals I will pack. If so, I will make some homemade apple sauce, apple-pear sauce, or apple-peach sauce. Or, I will be sure to have oranges and bananas available to grab. Another […]

    Like

  3. How I Prepare Food for the Beginning of My Workweek | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, September 23, 2014

    […] slow cooking, I made some applesauce. The chunky applesauce recipe is here, though you may enjoy an apple-pear sauce or an apple-peach sauce. For my sauce, I used 2 Red Delicious and 1 Granny Smith. They came in a […]

    Like

  4. Multi-Site Autumn Roundup | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, October 25, 2014

    […] Apple-Pear Sauce […]

    Like

  5. Healthy Freelancers’ Recipe: Apple-Pear Sauce | Live the Freelance Life - Saturday, August 13, 2016

    […] recipe I want to share is for Apple-Pear Sauce, an easy method for making your own healthy apple-based sauce. Adding a pear offers a pleasant […]

    Like

  6. Top 10 Frugal Cooking and Food Tips | Frugal Recipes - Friday, February 3, 2017

    […] homemade sauces when pears, apples or peaches go on […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

