Tasty Beef Soup

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Don’t know about you, but I love soups. Each winter I try to come up with one or two new variations. This is what I came up with a couple weeks back. Let me know what you think, and try some of your own recipes.

Ingredients

2 pounds beef stew meat

4 russet potatoes, rinsed and chopped into bite size pieces

1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into bite size pieces

2 carrots, rinsed with tops cut off

1 can diced tomatoes, with juices

1 can vegetable or beef broth

2 tablespoons basil

water, if necessary

  1. Place the root vegetables in the crock of a slow cooker.
  2. Put the meat on top, then pour the can of tomatoes over everything.
  3. Add the can of broth, then use water to fill the crock about 2/3 full.
  4. Cook on low 4-5 hours, or on high about 3 hours.
  5. About 20 minutes before you are done cooking, add the basil and give the soup a good stirring.

Tips

  • Try different vegetables, such as turnip or parsnip.
  • Grow what you can in your garden to save money.
  • Grow herbs on a windowsill year round.
  • Save money by using the potato skins and carrot tops for something else.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with a salad of greens and cucumbers.
  • Use the carrot tops in smoothies, salads, or like an herb to flavor other dishes.
  • Use the potato skins to make sour cream and chive topped potato skins. (I don;t eat sour cream often, but do consider it a treat once in a while.)

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Celebrating Winter, Main Meals

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More Workweek Meal Prep | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, October 28, 2014

    […] filled it with the makings of a nice beef soup. Though the version I made for this week was a little downplayed: Beef, butternut squash, sweet […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

