Grocery Shopping for 1

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright February 13, 2015. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Grocery shopping for one is different from grocery shopping for an entire family and daycare children. When I started shopping only for myself, I had no idea what I was doing. I would go into the grocery store and wonder, what do I want? and how much do I need just for me?

There are a number of things to take into consideration when you begin shopping just for yourself.

  1. What do you like to eat? Never mind what anyone else liked, it really is all about you now. So take some time before heading to the grocery store to decide what you want to eat this week.
  2. Make a note if you want to double or triple a recipe to have enough for leftovers, lunches, or freezer meals.
  3. Now decide how much of each food you’ll reasonably eat. You don’t need to buy for all those people, but you do need enough to feed yourself.
  4. Make a list of the ingredients you need to make what you like, adding those items you don’t already have on hand.
  5. Check the sales papers.
  6. Decide whether you want to stock up on pantry items.
  7. Search out coupons to use while shopping. Mark the items on your list that you have coupons for, so you remember when checking out.
  8. Grab your reusable shopping bags and head to the grocery store. Many stores give a small discount for each bag you reuse. Maybe .05 per bag.

Be aware that, on your first few trips out, you may find things you hadn’t realized you wanted. Decide that you’ll consider these for your next trip. Or, you could bring extra cash to cover one or two items.

How was your transaction to grocery shopping for 1? Let us know in the comments, or email me personally at shannonlbuck@gmail.com.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Articles, Grocery Shopping

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cooking for 1 | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, January 21, 2014

    […] only is grocery shopping for 1 different than doing so for many, but cooking for 1 can be as well. When I started cooking for […]

    Like

  2. Stocking a Pantry for 1 | Frugal Recipes - Wednesday, January 22, 2014

    […] week we have been looking at shopping and cooking for 1. I am going to continue the basic topic of doing things for just 1 person with […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

