Vitamin Water

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014

In case you haven’t noticed, I’ve been making fruit waters lately. Drank hot tea all winter, and now I’m in the mood for something else. But I don’t want the same thing all the time. I want different flavors. So I am experimenting.

My latest concoction is below. It turned out to be a very tasty experiment. It also packs quite the nutritional punch. The lemon adds vitamin C and folate, as does the lime. The addition of a kiwi fruit upped those nutrients, while adding others such as vitamins K and E, fiber, potassium, and more. Cucumber gave the water a dose of vitamin B1, as well as magnesium and biotin, among other important nutrients. And strawberries enabled me to add, among other things, vitamin B6 and omega-3 fats. Quite the healthy dose of nutrients, all told.

Ingredients

1/2 lemon

1/2 lime

3 or 4 strawberries

1 kiwi

5-8 slices cucumber

ice

water

  1. Slice the fruit, placing the slices into the pitcher. Add the cucumber.
  2. Fill pitcher half way with ice, then add water until full.
  3. Keep in the refrigerator.

Tips

  • Play around with the types of fruit you add. Mix things up a bit.
  • My friend Rose tells me that she crushes the fruit to add to the flavor impact.
  • If you prefer a little sweetness, add honey.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve this vitamin water as a stand-alone beverage, or as an accompaniment to any meal.

You may also enjoy:

Lemon Water

Strawberry-Watermelon Water

Enjoy!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beverages

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leftover Ham: One Pan Meal | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, February 21, 2017

    […] Serve this meal with a side of soup and vitamin water. […]

    Like

  2. Frugal Popsicle Ideas | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, June 4, 2017

    […] vitamin water […]

    Like

  3. Issue #21: Summer Fun & Foods – Frugal Recipes Happenings - Monday, June 19, 2017

    […] Vitamin Water […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

