A Good, Healthy Breakfast, on a Budget

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014

I keep telling people they can eat healthy without spending an exuberant amount on food. This is true to an extent, if you keep it simple. Stick to the basics, and your meal does not have to cost an arm-and-a-leg. Also, watch your serving sizes.

The picture shows a breakfast I had a couple of weeks ago. It is actually pretty typical, for me. (Don’t mind the paper plate! It is a leftover from my daughters’ engagement party.) The most expensive aspect was the smoothie. I could have saved more money by just having a piece of fruit with breakfast, and drinking either water or tea. But I had the coconut milk on hand, and the berries were not badly priced (for berries!)

I do try to always pair vegetables and a protein source with a little healthy fat, in this instance by cooking the sausages and egg in coconut oil. This combination is a healthy way to consume food. I eat a mostly Paleo diet.

The components of the meal consisted of:

Mixed Berry Smoothie

2 sausage links

1 fried egg

peas in pods, carrot rounds, celery, broccoli, and tomatoes

The meal was simple and tasty, and kept me full until not long before lunch. Good deal. Note that I rarely ever eat grains. Usually just when my budget is just too tight to manage. Also note the absence of real dairy. I rarely ever have dairy. These foods are a no-no with my lifestyle change, and I should not be eating them at all. I do, once in a while, consume cheese… I just can’t help myself 😉

What healthy things do you eat for breakfast?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy Breakfast Recipes On A Budget « Recipes for Health - Tuesday, September 9, 2014

    […] A Good, Healthy Breakfast, on a Budget | Frugal Recipes – I am trying come up with new recipes in order to make my meals more affordable, while eating as healthy as is possible on a budget. I am also working on losing weight, and have lost 70 pounds so far. […]

    Like

  2. Banana Strawberry Smoothie | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, January 7, 2017

    […] Serve the smoothie with breakfast. […]

    Like

  3. The Frugal Kitchen | Frugal Recipes - Friday, February 3, 2017

    […] a budget, and try to stay within that budget. Have a few dollars each week to dedicate to stocking your pantry as […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

