Butternut Squash and Carrot Mash


Fall is in the air! And I’m back at trying new things, as well as sticking with a few old stand-byes. My most recent experiment took place because I had just a couple of carrots, as well as a squash fresh from my parents garden. I topped my butternut squash and carrot mash with some of the chili I made the same day.

Ingredients

2 carrots, cut into rounds

butternut squash, cut into chunks – enough to almost fill a small pot

water

  1. Place the carrot rounds into the pot, and top with the squash until the pot is not quite full.
  2. Add water to barely cover the vegetables.
  3. Boil until the carrots and squash are tender enough to mash.
  4. Drain the water off the vegetables, and mash with a fork.

Tips

  • Add cinnamon and nutmeg to the mash if desired.
  • Save money by using vegetables from your garden.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve over chili or spaghetti squash.

Happy fall!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Sides

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I Prepare Food for the Beginning of My Workweek | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, September 23, 2014

    […] butternut squash and carrot mash was easy to make. Because the squash came to me fresh from may parents garden, and the carrots were […]

    Like

  2. Autumn Sausage Slow Cooker Meal | Frugal Recipes - Monday, October 20, 2014

    […] The squash I used in this recipe came from my parents garden, and it was delicious. I also used some of this squash when making the Butternut Squash and Carrot Mash. […]

    Like

  3. Don’t Like Vegetables? | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, January 20, 2015

    […] do not liked cooked carrots, unless I make a mash of them with white or sweet potato, or squash (Fruit, but works well here). The tactic above has not […]

    Like

  4. Successful Harvests | Frugal Recipes - Monday, October 19, 2015

    […] Butternut Squash and Carrot Mash […]

    Like

  5. Top 10 Vegetables for Your Frugal Garden | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Sweet. Carrots may be frozen or canned for use during the winter months. They are delicious in a squash and carrot mash, in omelets, in fresh salads, these carrots are also tasty when added to a soup or roast. Carrots […]

    Like

  6. Serve Up a Healthier Yule or Christmas Meal on a Budget | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Butternut squash and carrot mash […]

    Like

  7. Sweet and Sour Kielbasa | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, February 18, 2017

    […] over spaghetti squash, if desired, or with a butternut squash and carrot mash. (Though this is a meal in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

