How I Prepare Food for the Beginning of My Workweek


It’s not likely I will ever get up early enough to make lunches, on mornings I have to go to work. Instead, I tend to spend part of my Sunday afternoons preparing for my first three-day stretch. You see, I work a mixed schedule every week: 8-3, 7-3, 3-10, Thursday off, and then 3-11 Friday and Saturday with Sunday off. Because of this, I like to be prepared for those first few days each week. I bring my 2 lunches and 1 dinner to work with me, and place them in the housekeepers refrigerator. Then I don’t have to worry about forgetting anything.

What I Prepared

lemon-honey waters

lemon iced tea

vegetable jars

applesauce

butternut squash and carrot mash

chili

zucchini chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting

As you might imagine, my place smelled amazing all day!

 

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014

The first thing I did was start the chili. I always make this in a slow cooker. Find the recipe here. I used New York strip steak, ground sausage, ground beef, and turkey smoked sausage as my four-meat combo. I had a coupon for the sausage: Buy 1 get 1 free, and they were on sale at $2.50 each. So I paid $2.50 for both, and only used 1. Good deal!

While my chili was slow cooking, I made some applesauce. The chunky applesauce recipe is here, though you may enjoy an apple-pear sauce instead. For my sauce, I used 2 Red Delicious and 1 Granny Smith. They came in a bag of about 4 each, with some oranges, and were on sale $3.50 when I was at the store the other day. Another good deal!

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Once the apples cooked down, I divided the sauce between three containers. I left them uncovered to cool, then covered and placed them in the refrigerator.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

While the chili and the applesauce were cooking, I filled a few jars with vegetables. In 1 jar I put cucumber rounds. The other two jars I filled with celery sticks and broccoli that I had leftover from the previous week. You can find more vegetable combination ideas here. With the broccoli and celery being left over from last week, and the cucumber coming from my parents garden, I did not spend any money to make these vegetable jars.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

I also made up a few water bottles of lemon-honey water. I keep these on my table, drinking one each morning. My first morning water is always room temperature. Supposedly, this is good for you. Simply place a few slices of lemon in the water bottle, add a teaspoon of honey if desired, and add water. Cover and set aside. A guest at the inn dropped off a couple of lemons at the front desk, indicating they couldn’t bring them across the border. Free for me!

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Using the other half of that lemon, I made lemon iced tea. Considering the tea bags were leftovers from the previous winter, I did not really pay anything to make this either.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck Copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck Copyright 2014.

The butternut squash and carrot mash was easy to make. Because the squash came to me fresh from may parents garden, and the carrots were left over from last week and figured into that budget, I did not spend anything to make this recipe. Another freebie!

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

The squash and carrot mash was more than enough to cover dinner, 2 work lunches, and a work dinner. Notice how I used the rest of the cucumber for my dinner.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

And I had leftovers.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

I topped the squash with chili. Look at that healthy dinner! It was delicious. And already my work meals are taken care of. I had more leftovers.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

My 2 lunches and 1 dinner for the beginning of my work week. Squash and carrot mash topped with chili, vegetable jars, and applesauce. Yum!

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

And the leftovers? Enough for dinners at home Monday and Tuesday. I will have some cucumber and zucchini rounds on the side.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Next, I used my moms recipes to make dessert. A chocolate zucchini cake with cream cheese frosting. I know people tote the separating of wet and dry ingredients, then combining them, but I just don’t do that. It would only mean more dishes to wash. I combine everything into one bowl. For the cake recipe, I used zucchini from my parents garden.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

And it is easy to mix everything together.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Because I rent a room, I only have a toaster oven for baking. I made small cakes in mini bread pans, and 6 cupcakes.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014.

I frosted these cup/cakes with the homemade cream cheese frosting, and I kept just a couple small pieces of cake for myself. The rest I gave away to people at work.

As you can see, I had a very busy day of cooking. I also cleaned and did the fall decorating. I was one busy lady.

Shannon

NOTE: (January 2017) While I am eating much healthier these days, and this blog is going to be reflecting that, I am not above having something sweet once-in-a-while, especially a family favorite such as this cake. I make it once a year.

Every so often you will see a recipe that is not healthy but, for the most part, this blog is now going to be about eating as healthy as possible on a budget,

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Articles, Saving Money

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 20 Thanksgiving Writing and Photography Prompts | How to Live the Freelance Life - Saturday, November 1, 2014

    […] Photograph your way through making a recipe, or an entire meal, and then write a blog post describing your steps. Here is an example. […]

    Like

  2. 4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, January 10, 2015

    […] (You may also like the one here.) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

