4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash


I never was a fan of chili, until I started trying to live a Paleo lifestyle. At that point, in my ongoing search for the perfect Paleo recipes that would be absolutely delicious and satisfying, I came across a chili recipe that looked like it had potential. I tweake, and keep changing it up.

Chili can be made in so many ways. I like to change-up the meats I’m using, and am experimenting with other add-ins as well, as you’ll see here.

I’m always looking for sales on meats, and the New York strip steak, originally $5.53, was going for $3.87. It was the most affordable choice at Walmart that day.

(You may also like the one here.)

Ingredients

2 (3-qt) crock pots

2 Tablespoons coconut oil

.73 pounds New York strip steak

2 pounds ground mild sausage

2 pounds ground beef

6.5 ounces skinless turkey smoked sausage

8 ounces tomato paste

3 cans organic diced tomato

1 cup diced butternut squash

3 Tablespoons chili powder

3 Tablespoons cumin

2 teaspoons oregano

2 teaspoons parsley

2 teaspoons allspice

2 teaspoons salt

2 cup of beef broth

  1. Brown the ground beef in about a tablespoon of coconut oil. Drain, and split between two 3-qt crock pots.
  2. Repeat step 1 for the ground sausage.
  3. Chop the turkey sausage and the steak and split between the crocks.
  4. Pour the diced tomato and squash over the meats.
  5. Add a can of tomato paste to each.
  6. Add the oregano, parsley, and spices, splitting each equally between the two crocks.
  7. Pour a cup of beef broth over the contents of the crock, and cover.
  8. Heat on low 6 or 7 hours. Turn the slow cooker off.

Tips

  • Buy ingredients when they are on sale; specially the meats and spices. If you can afford to stock up at that time, do so to be prepared for future meals.
  • Combine sales with coupons when possible, to save even more money.
  • Use produce for your own garden for even more savings, and better quality and taste.
  • Try using different combinations of meats.
  • Experiment with different types of vegetables.
  • Freeze the leftovers, and use them to create new recipes.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve over spaghetti squash with cucumber rounds and carrot sticks.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Successful Harvests | Frugal Recipes - Monday, October 19, 2015

    […] Four Meat Chili with Butternut Squash […]

    Like

  2. Frugal Recipes: The Top 10 Posts of 2015 | Frugal Recipes - Friday, January 8, 2016

    […] 4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash […]

    Like

  3. The Art of Casserole Creation | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, November 12, 2016

    […] I’m also considering finding a Paleo “cornbread” recipe to make a sort of taco or chili casserole, using the bread as a topping. Paleo breads are not made from grains, so it would work […]

    Like

  4. Introducing Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy – Single Mom Family - Monday, December 5, 2016

    […] 4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash […]

    Like

  5. Butternut Squash and Carrot Mash | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, December 27, 2016

    […] as a squash fresh from my parents garden. I topped my butternut squash and carrot mash with some of the chili I made the same […]

    Like

  6. Top 10 Vegetables for Your Frugal Garden | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] tomatoes be stored outside the refrigerator. Use them to make sauces for rice, pasta, and pizza, dice them for chili, and can for later use. Great in salads, breakfast sandwiches, and scrambles, and many people enjoy […]

    Like

  7. Getting Enough Protein Affordably | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 22, 2017

    […] and make a scramble for breakfast. There will be enough turkey for freezing to make other meals: Chili, casseroles, and […]

    Like

  8. How I Prepare Food for the Beginning of My Workweek | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 22, 2017

    […] first thing I did was start the chili. I always make this in a slow cooker. Find the recipe here. I used New York strip steak, ground sausage, ground beef, and turkey smoked sausage as my […]

    Like

  9. 5 Laws of Being a Frugal Kitchen Goddess | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, February 18, 2017

    […] the slow cooker when possible. Make everything from roasts to chili to soups, and so much more. Use of the cheapest cuts of meat, and the ugliest produce, wont even […]

    Like

  10. New Year Goal: Experiment with Recipes | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, February 28, 2017

    […] Here is another way I experiment with new recipes. Search for a recipe you would like to try, that maybe has an ingredient or two you know you wont like. It can be any recipe, but we’ll use another recipe from this blog as an example: 4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash. […]

    Like

  11. Chili with ‘Cornbread’ Topping | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, March 18, 2017

    […] two separate recipes and one of them is made in a crock pot. I start this in the morning, by making one of the chili recipes I love so much. For this meal, I used chicken, ground beef, and a mild  ground sausage, and a cup […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

