Toaster Oven Pizza


I love homemade pizza, but I’m trying to eat healthier. My old way of making this delicious treat just wasn’t going to cut it. I had to come up with something different, not using white or wheat flour. Also, I no longer have an oven, because I rent this room, so I had to come up with something for a toaster oven I still don’t always use with great success. I was pleased with how this came out, though I think I need to play with the dough a little to get it just right.

(Update January 2017: I finally bought a new toaster oven and ditched the small ancient one, as well as the microwave. Don’t need those any more. This new one came with an owner’s manual, and I’m pretty darn good at the baking in a toaster oven thing now. Yay! Now, this pizza is even easier to make.)

I started with this dough from Ditch the Wheat, using just two pinches of the sea salt as well as 1/4 cup of parsley.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015After covering the toaster oven pan with aluminum foil, (I know! Please don’t judge!) I used a little EVOO to just cover the foil then pressed the dough into the pan to form a thin crust because the sides of my pan are not very high. Then I added my toppings.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2014Stew beef is what I had on hand, left over from the previous days cooking. Use whatever meat you want, or different toppings all together. Experiment. See what you like best.

Ingredients

Almond flour pizza crust dough

EVOO

coconut oil, organic

stew beef, about 1/2 to 3/4 pound

salt, to taste

pepper, to taste

garlic powder, to taste

1/2 can of crushed pineapple, drained

4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese

4 ounces shredded mild cheddar cheese

  1. Melt a little coconut oil in a pan.
  2. Add the stew beef, as well as the salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste.
  3. Heat until almost cooked through.
  4. Spread a little EVOO over the pan.
  5. Smoosh the dough around until it covers the bottom of the pan, then bake for 10 minutes at 350*.
  6. Sprinkle the cheeses on the crust dough.
  7. Once the pineapple is drained, add it to the pizza covering the cheese.
  8. Spread the seasoned stew beef over the crushed pineapple.
  9. In my very old toaster oven, I baked this on medium dark and 300* for 30 minutes. This may be different for your toaster/regular oven, so watch the pizza. You want the cheese to melt, and the crust to cook through.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015Notes:

  • I think I should have waited a bit to remove the pizza from the pan. The first piece came out more crumbly than I would have liked, but the ones I removed after I was done eating (to place on a plate and into the refrigerator) came out nicely.
  • Pour the pineapple juice into a bowl, along with the other 1/2 can of crushed pineapple. Cover and freeze to use in a smoothie another day.
  • Use leftover ingredients from other meals as toppings to save money.
  • Almond flour is expensive, but I don’t use it every week or even every month. It is for a treat item, like pizza or muffins, not for every day use.
  • Save money on cheese, herbs, and spices by using coupons.
  • Try coupling coupons with sales for even more savings.
  • I don’t actually eat cheese often. It is also considered a treat. I am just too stubborn to give it up completely.

Serving Suggestions

  • I had mine with a side of raw carrots, celery, broccoli, and peas.
  • Serve with a side salad of greens, cherry tomatoes, and cucumber slices.
  • If using vegetables on the pizza, and not fruit, then serve with a fruit salad.
  • Serve with raw broccoli and cherry tomatoes.

Enjoy!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Freezer Set-Up | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] bottom of this freezer is usually perfect for storing casseroles and prepared pizzas that you make yourself, as well as other […]

    Like

  2. Sweet n Sour Chicken Pizza | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, February 18, 2017

    […] For this pizza, you can use a homemade dough recipe. […]

    Like

  3. Hawaiian Pizza with Sweet n Sour Sauce | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, February 18, 2017

    […] pizza dough or crust […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

