Simple Chicken Soup + Vegetables

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

My Nan used to make chicken soup however you wanted it. She knew each person liked specific things, and would make the soup to suit us when we were sick. There are so many ways to make chicken soup, anyone can have a version they like.

I like mine made different ways, depending on the day, my mood, and what I have on hand.

If you made the Simple Chicken Soup, use some of the leftovers to make this one.

Ingredients

Simple Chicken Soup

1 small carrot

6-10 sugar snap peas in pods

  1. Pour some of the Simple Chicken Soup into a saucepan. Heat on medium.
  2. Chop a small carrot, and cut the pea pods into halves or thirds.
  3. Add the vegetables to the pot and cook until food is heated through. (I like my vegetables on the crispier side, so I do not cook this very long.)

Tips

  1. Use vegetables that were not needed from other meals to save money.
  2. Try different vegetables, according to what you have on hand. This will also save money.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with a side salad of greens.
  • Serve with a side of apple slices.

Enjoy!

Shannon

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cooking for 1: Pre-Roasted Chicken | Frugal Recipes - Thursday, March 19, 2015

    […] Simple Chicken Soup + Vegetables […]

    Like

  2. Introducing Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy – Single Mom Family - Monday, December 5, 2016

    […] Simple Chicken Soup + Vegetables […]

    Like

  3. Simple Chicken Soup | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Simple Chicken Soup + Vegetables […]

    Like

  4. Simple Salad Topped with Berries | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, February 26, 2017

    […] Serve this salad with soup. […]

    Like

  5. Berry-Banana Salad | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, February 26, 2017

    […] salad will go great with a vegetable and meat based soup at […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

