What Type of Chocolate do You Use?

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.

The second in a continuing series of posts asking readers’ questions, this one deals with one of my favorite foods. Chocolate!

Yes, I do love chocolate. And I do eat it sometimes. Otherwise, I would feel deprived and would not stick to any healthy eating plan at all. I know this is true, because I know myself. However, I do not eat chocolate every day, or even every week.

It is said that dark (not milk or white) chocolate is good for you. In moderation, this chocolate can be good for your heart, brain, and blood sugar levels. It has antioxidants and other nutrients. So why not take advantage every so often. Right? (Unless you have health issues. Then please talk with your doctor and nutritionist. I am neither.)

Now, they say that 60% dark chocolate and higher is what we want to go for, and I can eat 60%-70% dark and enjoy it. But, do I usually get this dark chocolate?

Not really. Generally speaking, I just use Special Dark. I know. I know. NOT the healthiest. But, my main goal is to lose weight and be healthier. I can enjoy Special Dark and accomplish both, for less than the expensive dark chocolate options. I am, after all, on a budget.

How do I use this chocolate?

  • Mainly I melt some with a little coconut oil, and use it for dipping fruit slices.
  • I might make my own no-bake cookie versions, minus the extra sugar and stuff.
  • I add them to otherwise paleofied pancakes or muffins on occasion.
  • Sometimes I add them to trail mix.

I do not go overboard with the Special Dark chocolate, though. Usually Cocoa Bliss is what I use for my cravings. It is organic, and the only ingredients are cocoa powder and coconut oil. And it is delicious. I simply eat a tablespoon or two when I am feeling hungry but it is not meal time yet. It tides me over until my next meal, and helps me not to feel nauseous. (I have this problem when I am feeling hungry.)

Unsweetened cocoa powder is another chocolate that I use in:

  • Smoothies
  • Hot cocoa
  • Baking

What types of chocolate do you use in your quest to eat healthier on a budget? How do you use the chocolate? Let us know in the comments below, or email me at shannonlbuck@gmail.com. I respond to all emails.

Note: I have not been paid to mention brands in this post. They are just the products that I use.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beverages, Desserts, Food Articles, Reader Questions

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

