Cooking for 1: Pre-Roasted Chicken


You know those already roasted chickens you buy at the grocery store? I picked one up last week for $4.99. These chickens are not large, but you can do a lot with them. This is what I did with mine:

Day 1

I also bought a pre-made salad that day, because I was on my way to work. Dinner was why I was at the store. I would need something for my break at work. That something turned out to be the salad, with a couple of slices of chicken breast from the roaster.

Day 2

For lunch, I decided to make a one-pan meal, using some of the chicken meat, vegetables, and seasoning.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.Chicken and Potato One-Pan Meal

Day 3

This is the day I put the roaster chicken into the slow cooker. Covering it with water. I let this cook down, meat, skin, and bones, all day on low, then I spooned some of the liquid and meat into a bowl for a tasty, simple soup. I took the rest of the meat and put it into a saucepan, covering it with liquid from the crock, covered the pot and placed it into the refrigerator. And I poured some of the liquid into small canning jars to use later. A couple of these went into the freezer, a couple more in the fridge to use throughout the week.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.Simple Chicken Soup

Day 4

I added some vegetables to the saucepan of chicken, and simmered until hot.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015.Simple Chicken Soup + Vegetables

***

I was able to get 4 meals out of that chicken, as well as 4 small canning jars of broth. Not bad, and the other ingredients were leftovers from other meals, or leftover ingredients that were not needed when making the other meals. This saved me money on meals for the week.

Not bad.

What can you do with a roaster chicken? How do you stretch it out?

Let us know in the comments below, or email me at shannonlbuck@gmail.com. I respond to all emails.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Articles, Main Meals, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cooking for 1 | Frugal Recipes - Friday, February 3, 2017

    […] only is grocery shopping for 1 different than doing so for many, but cooking for 1 can be as well. When I started cooking for myself, I was used to doing so for more people. My two […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

