September Baking Day


I love September because it’s the month I start having huge baking days each year. I had one such day on the 9th. Mind you, it was still quite warm, and I rent a room so it heats up quickly. At this point, the AC is used to keep the temperature regulated on baking days. Soon, it will not be necessary.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015This is what I ended up with at the end of my baking day. Quite a bit, and well worth my time.

  1. I made applesauce in one of the slow cookers, using the red delicious apples I had left from the previous week. All I did was core and peel them, slice ’em up, and layer them in the crock. I covered the slices with water, filling to just above thePhotograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 tops of the apples, then cooked on high for 3 hours. I ended up with enough applesauce to go with 4 meals. At no added cost for the week because the apples were left over.
  2. I cooked up a batch of this wonderful Apple-Pumpkin Butter (Civilized Caveman Cooking) in the other slow cooker. It came out perfect. I did not add the pecans, because I don’t eat them, but the recipe still came out well. I got almost 3 jars of this, put one in the refrigerator and 2 in the freezer. (This butter is very good on both the muffins and the cornbread below.) (It is also a great topper for Paleo ice cream.)
  3. Pumpkin Muffins (PaleOMG) were next, using another Paleo recipe. Paleo muffin mixes are not going to be exactly like regular ones, but they turned out well. This recipe made 10 muffins. (NOTE: I did not add the chocolate chips, but I bet they are delicious in them. I knew I was using the chips in another recipe, plus already had no-bakes. I didn’t need any more chocolate.)
  4. Then I started the Paleo Cornbread Muffins (Empowered Sustenance). Again, these are not the same as regular cornbread but turned out well. This recipe made a dozen.
  5. And I wanted to have a breakfast on hand that would be quick and easy to put together each morning, so I made some Paleo Pumpkin Pancake batter (Paleo Newbie) and put it in the refrigerator to be cooked up as I wanted, at a rate of 1 pancake per day to go with a smoothie.

My budget for groceries was only $3.00 for the week. A lean week indeed. I bought a package of hot dogs for $.70, a 3-pack of string cheese for $1.00, and a can of peas for $.69. Everything else I already had on hand, except some cucumbers, kohlrabi, a tomato, and zucchini from Mom’s and Lloyd’s garden.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015

Lunch was a simple, leftover mixed salad. I topped it with some string cheese. It was a refreshing, light lunch.

 

 

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015

And this was dinner. I cooked the hot dogs and peas in a fry pan, and served it with fresh cucumber, tomato, and kohlrabi. This made a few meals.

It was a pretty good meal, despite the hot dogs.

 

 

A couple of days earlier I’d made Chocolate-Coconut No-Bakes (Here on the blog.) and Easy Slow Cooker Taco Meat (Rubies & Radishes). Both recipes were absolutely delicious, and helped me get through the coming week. With all the fresh produce from the garden, there was plenty of food to last.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015

This was one of my meals later in the week. Sweet potato topped with leftover taco meat, cucumbers from the garden, and the Paleo cornbread topped with the homemade pumpkin butter. It was a delicious meal.

What are you cooking up this month? Let us know in the comments, or email me at shannonlbuck@gmail.com. I always reply to comments and emails.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Celebrating Autumn, Food Articles, Using Leftovers

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Successful Harvests | Frugal Recipes - Monday, October 19, 2015

    […] September Baking Day […]

    Like

  2. Roasted Sweet Potato And Squash | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

    […] September Baking Day […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

