Simple Chocolate-Coconut No-Bakes

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 11. 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

I love super easy recipes, especially when they involve chocolate and coconut. And this recipe is as easy as they come. I’m sure you’ll enjoy these cookies as much as I do.

And the health factor? Regular no bakes have so much sugar in them, not to mention the sugar in the peanut butter. I’m happy with these, even with the sugar in the chips. If I could afford the expensive healthier stuff, I would certainly buy it. Unfortunately, I don’t have that kind of money in the budget.

I don’t make these all the time anyway, maybe a few times a year. So, I very much enjoy them when I do.

Ingredients

12 ounces dark chocolate chips (If there is extra melted chocolate, I use it to dip fruit into later. May need to be re-melted.)

2 or 3 tablespoons chocolate almond or cashew milk, or a tablespoon or so of organic coconut oil

3 cups organic unsweetened coconut flakes

  1. In a pot, melt 12 ounces of dark chocolate chips with the milk or coconut oil. Stir every so often to begin, and then almost continuously once the chocolate is really melting.
  2. Pour all 3 cups of unsweetened coconut flakes into a bowl.
  3. Pour half of the chocolate over the coconut, and then mix it all together.
  4. Add a little more chocolate at a time while stirring, if necessary, until there is enough to coat all the coconut.
  5. Pour leftover chocolate quickly into a canning jar and set aside.
  6. Spread out a sheet of parchment paper on a table or sideboard. Use a tablespoon to spoon the coconut mixture onto this sheet.
  7. Let the cookies sit until set.

Tips

  • Cover the remainder of the chocolate and set aside for use with fruit.
  • Do NOT put the no-bakes in the refrigerator if you can help it. They may get very hard, making them difficult to bite into.
  • Use whatever you have on hand for chocolate.
  • Add dried fruit, such as cranberries.
  • Add slivered almonds.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with a cup of organic almond or cashew milk.
  • Make a few batches and serve during your next get-together.
  • Serve with Paleo hot cocoa, while sitting on the porch watching the night sky this fall.

Enjoy the treat!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Celebrations, Desserts

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September Baking Day | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, September 29, 2015

    […] couple of days earlier I’d made Chocolate-Coconut No-Bakes (Here on the blog.) and Easy Slow Cooker Taco Meat (Rubies & Radishes). Both recipes were […]

    Like

  2. New Year Goal: Experiment with Recipes | Frugal Recipes - Thursday, December 31, 2015

    […] Simple Chocolate-Coconut No-Bakes […]

    Like

  3. Introducing Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy – Single Mom Family - Monday, December 5, 2016

    […] Simple Chocolate Coconut No-Bakes […]

    Like

  4. A Frugal Christmas or Yule Buffet | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 22, 2017

    […] homemade cookies and […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

