New Year Goal: Experiment with Recipes


Still trying to figure out what your New Year goal will be? How about a food related goal? Resolve to experiment with new recipes during the new year, and you’ll open yourself up to a world of possibilities. Just step outside your comfort zone and try something new once a week, or even once a month.

Breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, and snack recipes are plentiful. Take a look around the web. You’ll find Mexican, Italian, Mediterranean, Paleo, vegetarian, and vegan recipes, and many more. The possibilities seem endless. If you want, you can even try new foods while experimenting with the recipes.

Let’s start with a recipe from here on the blog: Making Soup with the Bestest – Missy’s Vegetable Soup. This is quite the versatile recipe.

To begin, make the recipe as it’s written. It’s easy to throw everything into a big pot and let it cook. How did you like the recipe? Are there other vegetables you would have like to have used, besides what we did? Different herbs? Would you rather have some meat in the soup? Using the answers to these questions, try making your own soup – just the way you think you’ll like it best.

How did your soup come out? Is there anything else you would change or add? Anything that did not work for you?

This is one of the ways I experiment with new recipes. It works well for me.

Here is another way I experiment with new recipes. Search for a recipe you would like to try, that maybe has an ingredient or two you know you wont like. It can be any recipe, but we’ll use another recipe from this blog as an example: 4 Meat Chili with Butternut Squash.

This recipe is easy to experiment with; to change-up. Take a look at the ingredients. What if you don’t like the meat choices? Choose meats you do like. What if you don’t have canned tomatoes? Dice fresh tomatoes instead. Want to add something else? This recipe tastes great if you add a cup of pureed pumpkin, squash, or sweet potato. Adding diced or pureed carrots is another option.

Try the recipe the way you think it will be good. How did the chili come out? Is there anything else you would change or add? Anything that did not work for you?

This way of experimenting also works well for me. I’m very picky about some things. I cannot stomach onions and peppers, so I always look at recipe that include them and think about what I could do differently.

Now that I’ve told you about a couple of ways you can experiment with new recipes, how about trying these techniques out on more recipes:

Fruit and Almond ‘Cereal’

Homemade Chicken Soup

Sausage and Apple One-Pan Meal

So, what recipe are you going to start with? One of mine? One of Yours? Another recipe you found in a cookbook or online? Get started this week, and keep trying new recipes throughout the year.

You May Also Enjoy

Simple Chocolate-Coconut No-Bakes

Corned Beef and Potatoes One-Pan Meal

Simple Chicken Soup

Are you looking for a different type of new year goal?

New Year Goal: Reduce Debt

How did your recipes come out? Please share your experiences with us in the comments below, or email me personally at shannonlbuck@gmail.com. I always reply to comments and answer emails. Also, come back to this post over the coming year and update us on more successful experiments.

Happy New Year!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Articles

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

