Quick Tip: Freezing Chives

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright 2015 http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

When my daughters and I moved into an apartment years ago, the woman who lived there before us had planted chives. I kept them growing, and planted other things as well. When we moved into the trailer, we brought out chives with us. When I moved from there, I had my mother take the chives and plant them at her house. I wouldn’t have a place for them at my next place.

During the harvesting day I spent with my mom last fall, I noticed how well those chives are still doing. I cut a bunch to bring home.

At home, I rinsed them well and patted them dry with a towel. Then I chopped them up small and distributed them between two ice-cube trays. After covering them with water I put them in the freezer, later placing the cubes in freezer bags.

How will these chives be used?

  • By placing them in the pan with vegetables and meat to roast.
  • By dropping a cube or two in with soup I make in the slow cooker.
  • By adding them to chili.

Do you have a quick tip for chives?

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food Storage, Quick Tips

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Introducing Frugal Recipes: Spending Less to Eat Healthy – Single Mom Family - Monday, December 5, 2016

    […] Freezing Chives […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

