Mint-Lemon Sun Tea


It’s been a while since I added a sun tea recipe, so I thought I’d share a simple one I made yesterday. I knew I was going to want something cold and refreshing to drink when I got home from an extended walk, so I made this in the morning, let it sit on the windowsill while I got ready for my day and, before leaving the house,  put it in the refrigerator.

At first I wasn’t sure about mixing lemon with the mint tea, but I was working with only a few food and drink items to get me through the day, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I’m glad I did.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright June 20, 2016.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright June 20, 2016.

Ingredients

1 quart filtered water

2 organic mint tea bags

1 lemon slice

  1. Fill a quart size canning jar with filtered water.
  2. Place two organic mint tea bags into the jar, leaving the string and tags hanging over the outside while screwing the lid and ring onthe jar.
  3. Set on a windowsill, or on the porch, until the tea has a chance to mingle with the water well.
  4. Put the jar in the refrigerator until cold.
  5. When ready to serve, rinse a lemon well and cut a slice off.
  6. Put the lemon slice in a glass, squeezing some of the juice out.
  7. Pour the mint sun tea over the lemon.
  8. Enjoy!

Tips

  • I save money by not drinking the tea all the time, so I can have organic. This is a real treat for me because of its superior taste.
  • Lemons are inexpensive, but you can save money by buying extra when on sale.
  • Add mint leaves as a garnish if you have some on hand.
  • Try slices of other citrus fruits, such as oranges.

Serving Suggestions

Shannon

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beverages

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Mac and Cheese | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, September 3, 2016

    […] dish would be great served with a Harvest Salad and some Mint-Lemon Sun Tea. The more fruits and vegetables you can get into a meal the […]

    Like

  2. The Art of Casserole Creation | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, November 12, 2016

    […] with iced tea or […]

    Like

  3. Lemonade | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 8, 2017

    […] Mint-Lemon Sun Tea […]

    Like

  4. Strawberry-Watermelon Water | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, January 14, 2017

    […] Mint-Lemon Sun Tea […]

    Like

  5. Issue #20: Spring has Sprung! – Frugal Recipes Happenings - Monday, March 20, 2017

    […] Mint Lemon Sun Tea […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

