A Simple ‘Cereal’

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright January 15, 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Now that I’m eating healthier, I’ve let go of the thought that I ever have to have those cold cereals from a box. None of them seem to be truly healthy, or to fit in with the Paleo lifestyle I’m (mostly) trying to emulate. I mainly have smoothies or smoothie bowls these days, with the occasional oatmeal bowl or egg and vegetable meal.

But once in a while I still crave cereal. Not sure why. Not sure if I’ll ever stop completely.

I used to love Cheerios topped with banana. Now I skip the Cheerios, and I’ve switched to almond milk from dairy.

Ingredients

1 small banana, peeled and sliced into rounds

1/4 to 1/2 cup unsweetened original almond milk

  1. Simply put the banana rounds in a bowl, and add the milk.

Tips

  • Rarely do I feel the need for a sweetener but, if I do, I’ll drizzle a little raw honey over the top.
  • The above is the most frugal banana ‘cereal’ variation. I use store brand milk to save money, and once in a while find a coupon.
  • When I have leftovers from other recipes, I’ll add one or more of the following to my ‘cereal’: a sprinkling of berries, dried fruit, unsweetened coconut flakes, and/or crushed almond slivers.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve this ‘cereal’ alongside a Turkey and Squash Scramble. 1 egg, a little turkey, and some previously roasted squash and cooked in a little coconut oil is all you need.

Have a wonderful day!

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frugal Finds Shopping Sales and Goodwill – Frugal is Fabulous! - Sunday, January 15, 2017

    […] small bowl will add some color to a place setting. I paid $1.00 for it, and I think it is the perfect size for cereal or ice […]

    Like

  2. Using After Christmas Sales, Closing Sales, and Thrift Stores to Score Items for the Kitchen | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, January 22, 2017

    […] small bowl will add some color to a place setting. I paid $1.00 for it, and I think it is the perfect size for cereal or ice […]

    Like

  3. Fruit and Almond ‘Cereal’ | Frugal Recipes - Monday, February 27, 2017

    […] eating more salads, drinking more smoothies, and enjoying simple ‘cereals’ and smoothie bowls. And I’m feeling a whole lot […]

    Like

  4. Issue #20: Spring has Sprung! – Frugal Recipes Happenings - Monday, March 20, 2017

    […] started the ‘cereal’ collection by introducing everyone to my most basic ‘cereal’, and moved on from there. My Fruit and Almond ‘Cereal’ is already posted to the site, […]

    Like

  5. Cookbook Review: No Excuses Diet by Megan Gilmore | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, March 26, 2017

    […] waiting, as I was preparing meals for my weekend at work. The granola is very good. I used it top my banana cereal, and I put some in a container to have for snacks at […]

    Like

  6. Banana Blueberry ‘Cereal’ | Frugal Recipes - Saturday, April 1, 2017

    […] wanting spring to be here in full force. I’ve been eating more salads, Trying new smoothies, and enjoying simple ‘cereals’ and smoothie bowls. And I’m feeling a lot better, both physically and […]

    Like

  7. Banana ‘Cereal’ with Chocolate Almond Milk | Frugal Recipes - Sunday, April 9, 2017

    […] consuming healthier, lighter foods this time if year, eating more salads, trying new smoothies, and enjoying simple ‘cereals’ and smoothie bowls. And I’m feeling a lot better, in both body and mind. The ‘cereals’ I eat […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

