Fruit and Almond ‘Cereal’

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright February 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Winter food is usually heartier food, at least for me, but I’m trying to eat lighter right now. After being sick so much in December and January, I just want to pack in all the nutrients I can. Holiday eating has a way of getting out of control, and my body pays for it in sickness and added weight. Ugh.

I’m eating more salads, drinking more smoothies, and enjoying simple ‘cereals’ and smoothie bowls. And I’m feeling a whole lot better.

The ‘cereals’ I eat are simple, and pack a good nutritional punch in the morning. I don’t, however, eat them every morning, preferring heartier breakfasts with eggs or meat and plenty of vegetables a few times a week. Too much fruit isn’t what I’m going for, preferring more vegetables instead.

Ingredients

1 small banana, peeled and sliced

4 large strawberries, green tops taken off, chopped

1 tbsp almond slices/slivers

1/2 cup almond, milk

  1. Place the fruit in a bowl.
  2. Sprinkle the almonds over the fruit.
  3. Pour milk over the fruit and almonds.

Tips

  • Use different types of fruit, such as apples and pears with a few blueberries.

Serving Suggestions

  • Serve with homemade vegetable juice.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Breakfast

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Year Goal: Experiment with Recipes | Frugal Recipes - Tuesday, February 28, 2017

    […] Fruit and Almond ‘Cereal’ […]

    Like

  2. Issue #20: Spring has Sprung! – Frugal Recipes Happenings - Monday, March 20, 2017

    […] by introducing everyone to my most basic ‘cereal’, and moved on from there. My Fruit and Almond ‘Cereal’ is already posted to the site, and I’ve scheduled a couple of others to post to the blog […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

