Chili with ‘Cornbread’ Topping

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright February 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

This is an easy one, but it takes time because it’s actually two separate recipes and one of them is made in a crock pot. I start this in the morning, by making one of the chili recipes I love so much. For this meal, I used chicken, ground beef, and a mild  ground sausage, and a cup of pumpkin purée instead of the butternut squash. The great thing about the meat chili recipe is that it can be switched up so many ways. I just love it!

In the afternoon, I made a Paleo ‘cornbread’ recipe I found on A Girl Worth Saving.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright February 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Simply top a bowl of the hot chili with a piece of ‘cornbread’ and eat. You could also place dollops of the batter over the top of the chili in a baking dish, and bake at 350* until the bread is done.

How did I come up with this idea? I was menu planning, and thought “Gee, some cornbread would be great with this!” But, I’m trying to eat a mainly Paleo diet, and corn is a no-no. So I simply typed Paleo cornbread into Google and came up with this recipe. (The one I had all the ingredients for.) It’s a good one.

Shannon

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Main Meals

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

