Decorated Jars

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 11. 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

I did a little fun-shopping the other day. That does not happen very often. One of the places I went was Wal-Mart, to get a few craft supplies. I thought it would be fun to dress up the canning jars I use for storing food.

I bought

1/8 yard each of blue and red gingham, because I just love that look ($1.72 for both)

32.8 feet of jute cord ($0.94)

24-pack of Kraft assorted labels ($2.97)

4-pack of 8 ounce canning jars ($4.22)

_____

Total spent for supplies = $9.85/4 = $2.46 per jar

And there are 20 labels, plenty of jute cord, and plenty of fabric left over for other projects.

The materials I used to complete this project will be used over and over, meaning I wont have to re-buy things any time soon.

I’ve decided I love this size canning jar, and will likely buy more. They’ll come in handy for snacks, and can easily be packed into a lunch bag for work. These jars will also hold small bits of food, taking up less space in the pantry than a full size jar with just a little food in it.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 11. 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Materials

4 (8 ounce) canning jars

fabric

4 labels

jute cord

permanent marker

bowl, about 7 inches in diameter

scissors

tape

trail mix, or other foods you want to store

  1. Wash the canning jars, lids, and rings. Dry thoroughly.
  2. Place a bowl that is about 7 inches in diameter over the fabric.
  3. Use the permanent marker or chalk to trace around the bowl on the fabric.
  4. Wash the bowl so the marker comes off easily.
  5. Cut 4 circles out of the fabric, where you traced. I folded each of my fabric pieces in half and stacked the two types of fabric, so I would only have to cut once. The fabric was thin enough to do this.
  6. Divide the trail mix or other foods among the jars.
  7. Place the lids on the canning jars.
  8. Center a fabric circle on each lid.
  9. Place a ring on each jar, screwing into place.
  10. Cut four 24-inch lengths of jute cord.
  11. Tie one 24-inch length of jute cord around each ring.
  12. Using the permanent marker, write ‘Trail Mix’, or whatever will go into the jar, on each 4 labels..
  13. Tape the tag to the top of the jar.

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck, copyright March 11. 2017. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

NOTES:

  1. If you’ll be putting different types if things in each jar, you might want to use a hole punch to put a hole in each label, and tie them into place at the ring. This way, you’ll be able to see the label at a glance and know what exactly is in each jar.
  2. If I could have found the right color scrapbook paper and the tag punch I wanted at the store, I would have made my own labels.

Happy crafting!

Shannon

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Kitchen Crafts

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

