Chili-Topped Nachos

Photograph by Shannon L. Buck copyright September 5, 2007. http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/shannonbuck

Have I mentioned yet that I love autumn? It is my favorite season. The colors. The scents. The feel of the air as the season changes. The foods and beverages. The trips to the orchard. I love it all.

With the cooler temperatures comes a desire for heartier foods; and to cook more. I decided to make my first chili of the year yesterday, and had a nice big bowl of it last night. For lunch today, I made these nachos. I don’t eat these often, because they aren’t exactly healthy, but I do like them for the occasional snack. I want to note that I have seriously cut back on cheese, so that I hardly ever eat it. And this recipe only has about half the cheese I would have used in years passed. It still tastes good.

Ingredients

tortilla chips

shredded mild cheddar cheese

leftover chili

shredded spinach

  1. Line a baking sheet with tortilla chips.
  2. Sprinkle shredded cheese over the chips so there is a little on each.
  3. Put a small dab of chili on each tortilla.
  4. Sprinkle just a little more cheese over the top, and place the pan in the oven.
  5. Bake at 350* for a few minutes, until the cheese has melted.
  6. Remove from the oven, and sprinkle shredded spinach over the top.
  7. Enjoy!

Tips

  • Try different types of cheeses. I think mild cheddar goes well with spicy foods, but you may like something else.
  • Buy store brands. It will taste the same and save you money.
  • Use organic products when possible.

Serving Suggestions

  • Make a small plate of these to serve alongside tomato soup.

Happy fall!

Shannon

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Celebrating Autumn, Snacks

Author:Shannon L. Buck

Hi all! My name is Shannon. I'm a single mother of two young adult daughters and a Memay to one precious Little Man. I work as a writer from my home in Orono, Maine, and as a Front Desk Agent at an inn in Bangor. Writing is my life, second only to my daughters and grandson. I enjoy writing nonfiction, as well as fiction in a number of genres.

Subscribe!

Hello, Would you like to connect with me? I am looking forward to you joining me on my networking pages.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Issue #22: Fall is My Favorite Time of Year – Frugal Recipes Happenings - Sunday, October 1, 2017

    […] thing I made with the leftovers was chili-topped nachos. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

