My Movie Theater Trail Mix


I have diabetes. For the most part I have it under control. If I’m not careful, though, I can drive up my sugar and it can take time to get a handle on it again.

Going to the movies is one way I like to get out and do things with loved ones. But movie theaters don’t really have anything I should eat, and I am conditioned to munch while seeing a good movie.

I messaged the manager at one of the local movie theaters and explained that I have this health condition, and asked if I could possibly bring something from home the next time I went. He told me he is fine with that since he knows how problematic diabetes can be for people. I was thankful that he took the time to read my message and respond.

I decided a trail mix would be the perfect thing to bring. I can switch it up according to what I have on hand. I did this last weekend when I went to see Imaginary with my daughter and her boyfriend. This is just a super simple version of a trail mix, and it did not raise my blood sugar.

*****

Trail Mix

1/2 Taza wicked dark chocolate bar

1/4 cup hulled sunflower seeds

12 ChocZero mini marshmallows (no sugar)

I just place everything into a snack size baggie and am good to go.

*****

While at the theater, I buy my ticket and either a water or an unsweetened tea. If I hit the matinee closest one to my home, the ticket costs $7 and the water comes in at $3 and some change. I can see a movie for under $11.00. Not bad. It’s a few dollars more in the evening. The last time I went and bought myself food, I paid almost $20 just to eat.

I plan to switch things up with this quick recipe. I might choose to add:

almonds

unsweetened coconut flakes

homemade granola bits – no sugar

dried fruit – no added sugar

I’ll probably do something different each time I go, using whatever healthier options I have on hand at the time.

I would love to know what healthy trail mix options you enjoy, and what others with diabetes bring to snack on at the movies.

~ Shannon

Leave a comment